If only I had known how to save my butt!

Green Elk Blog

5 beginner road cycling lessons I had to learn the hard way.

My trusted steed My trusted steed

This week I completed my first ever 60km ride on my road bike. While my butt was sore from from being in the saddle for a few hours (2 hours and 48 mins to be exact), it was nowhere near the level of pain I experienced after I went on my first few one-hour rides. Come with me on a quick journey of the many lessons I learned by experiencing road cycling as a first timer.

There is one fundamental lesson before we get started for any beginner, anywhere: Ask questions. A lot. If it wasn’t for my friend Ed McNally who helped me choose the bike and then walked me through it all, I do not think I would ever have started. Everything I write is likely incredibly, mind-bogglingly obvious. I am not ashamed to admit…

View original post 712 more words

